Skip links

Media Associations decide not to nominate a representative to the PC

The Media associations who met on Wednesday 09th September has unanimously decided not to nominate a representative to the Press Council appointed by the Government. Members of the Free Media Movement, The Editors Guild, The Muslim Media Forum, Tamil Media Alliance, The Newspaper Association and South Asian Free Media Association took part in the discussion.

At this meeting it was also decided to make a personal request from Ariyananda Dombagahawtta, the editor to the Sunday Lankadeepa to resign from the Press Council. Mr. Dombagahawatta was appointed by the President along with the other members of the Press Council. He is the only working journalist serving in the Press Council.

Few weeks ago Media associations wrote to the President requesting him to abolish the controversial  Press Council Act.

Meanwhile, the members of the media associations also decided to consult lawyers before issuing a media release on convicted journalist J.S.Tissanayagam.

Leave a comment

This website uses cookies to improve your web experience.